top of page

If You Only Had One week, Month, Or Year To Live, What Would You Do?

Updated: Sep 8, 2021

This question isn't to make you feel like you don't have time, but to maybe change your perspective. I thought of this question the other day and it's still on my mind. Once I get a thought in my head I need to write it down. Honestly, you'd laugh at the notes in my phone. So, why am I asking you this question? For some reason I felt like I needed to place this question in someone else's mind too, because It made me think about a lot.



What if you're holding back from telling someone you love them? What if you're not going for that job because you're scared? What if you wish that you had a different career? What if you never left your hometown? What if you never pursued your dream? What if?



Think about it - If someone were to tell you that you had this limited amount of time to live, would you not hold back from those sort of things and go for it? Would you begin to live life differently? Would your overall perspective change?



Personally, I've come to believe that finding happiness within yourself and then putting it out into the world is what this life is about. In my other blog post, Let's make our 20s the best years of our Lives, I asked people to give advice on what they've learned in their 20s. I had a lot of people mention the same thought, "why did I care so much?" When I read the responses, I realized that (although I don't want to admit it) I still care what others think, but why?



It's as if I'd regret caring in the first place, if someone were to tell me that I'd have less time on this earth. I'd not care anymore because I'd simply want to live my life not theirs. That was my wakeup call. Exactly. Why not start now? I thought.



Who cares. You only have one life to live. Life is short and fragile. Why hold back because of fear, failure, or possibly making the wrong choice? There's never a right choice, or time, or place. I think that's what holds us back from a lot, the perfect timing.



However, I don't think that's how it should work. I think that the best things in life don't come planned. Did you ever go out on the limb without any plans and you had the best time? I'm not saying don't make plans, because a lot of the time plans are important. But, try it out for yourself one day/night with your friends.


All in all, I think that if you're holding back from doing something great, or you want to tell someone how you feel, or you want to go for that job, GO FOR IT. Go tell someone you love them, go try something new, go make a bucket list. Go live your life.



If someone were to tell me that I only had a limited time of life left, I'd:

Forgive people who've done me wrong.

Let the little things go. At the end of the day, is that what's going to matter? No.

Travel to somewhere I've never been before.

Try to tell as many stories I can.

Not care what others may be negatively saying about me, because it shouldn't change how I feel about myself. It shouldn't leave any effect on me.

Remind my family and best friends how much I love them.

Try to be more grateful for what I do have.

Not be so hard on myself when things don't go accordingly.

Work on my self love.

Make a bucket list of things I've never done before.


What would you do?


238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page