top of page

Finding The Perfect Skin Care Routine

Updated: Sep 9, 2021

Did you know that once you turn 25, your body starts producing less collagen? To put it into simpler terms, it's when you can begin seeing wrinkles, fine lines, etcetera. That's something I recently found out. "twenty-five!???" I thought. Are you scared to turn 25 now too?


I have always been into beauty ever since I was a senior in high school. I would watch makeup tutorials on YouTube religiously. But, I didn't get into an actual skincare routine that I stuck to until this past year. I've been missing out! Mentally, I feel like I have myself together if my skin is just right. Just me? Maybe, but I've come to learn that finding a good skincare routine is so crucial to having healthy skin, especially if you're in your 20s!



Some people have been asking me to drop my skin-care routine, so here we are. I want to note that these are my personal opinions and ideas. I am not a professional. However, I did do my research!


When I first started finding the perfect skin-care routine, I did some research. I focused on my specific skin-care needs; redness, sensitivity, dryness, etcetera. It is crucial to focus on because everyones' skin is different! It is up to you to find the right skin-care smoothie (let's call it). In other words, a variation of skin-care products that are the perfect combination for your skin.



If you don't have the same concerns as I do, my routine may not be the right one for you. However, some of the products work for all types, so don't go just yet!



Face Wash: Jelly Cleanser


I'm OBSESSED with this cleanser from Drunk Elephant. All you have to do is apply a dime size to your hand, emulsify it in your palms, and then apply it to your face. A small amount goes a long way for this product. I think it's hydrating and makes my face feel squeaky clean. I've been using it for over two months now and love it.












My favorite face mask: T.L.C. Sukari Babyfacial





I have been a big fan of using products without harsh chemicals and gunk that is not good for your skin. According to Drunk Elephant, Babyfacialâ„¢ is a pro-quality AHA/BHA facial that resurfaces to reveal greater clarity, improved skin texture and tone, and a more youthful-looking radiance." This one is pricey, but If you are looking for a great face mask, it is worth it in my eyes. I have been using It for a month and love how smooth my face feels. I use it once a week.






Toner: Skin Revitalizing Essence


I'm going to first start by saying that this product isn't necessarily a toner, but it's the closest thing to it. It locks in moisture before you apply moisturizer. After I clean my face, I pour it into my hands and press gently onto my face and neck. According to Monat, this is "lightweight miracle water that quickly hydrates and replenishes, giving a smoother, brighter, more radiant complexion to all skin types. I've been using this for over two years now." It's known for helping diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. It leaves my skin feeling hydrated and moisturized every use.




A toner I have my eyes on: Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer



I've done my research on this skin toner & moisturizer, and I'm impressed. It may be my next skincare purchase. According to Sephora, "It's a two-in-one formula that preps and softens like a toner and moisturizes like a cream for maximum hydration benefits in one simple step." A 2-in-1? Don't mind if I do. It works for all skin types - normal, dry, combination, and oily. If your skincare concerns are uneven texture, dullness, and dryness, you may want to look into this yourself. I'll be sure to try it out soon and post an updated review!


Moisturizer: Lala Retro Whipped Cream


I didn't know I could fall in love with a moisturizer until I got my hands on this baby. I'm obsessed with this product. My skin is dry, especially in the cold weather, so it does a great job of moisturizing. In my eyes - the application is easy and fancy schmancy. It is also great for all skin types. According to Sephora, it's a "rescue cream infused with six African oils and a plant ceramide complex for intense moisture and replenishing barrier support." If you're looking for a new moisturizer - it's this one. You're welcome.




Oil: Virgin Marula Luxury Facial Oil


If you read that as Virgin Mary, it's okay. I did too. This face oil feels so replenishing on my skin. I apply it after I use the face mask that I described above. That's what Drunk Elephant suggested, and it works for me. It's full of vital antioxidants for your skin and omegas 6 and 9. The Marula nurtures and balances your skin while rebuilding a youthful glow. It doesn't make my face break out - it doesn't have that heavy feel. From time to time, I'll skip the moisturizer and apply this oil to my skin before bed. When I wake up - my face feels so soft.





Eye Cream: C-Tango Multivitamin Eye Cream


I was unaware of the importance of owning a good eye cream. If you don't want to look like you haven't slept in 5 years, this eye cream could be your new savior. I used to use Monat Eye Smoothâ„¢ eye cream, which was rejuvenating & hydrating. In my opinion, it's a great eye cream, but I wanted to try something else out. According to Drunk Elephant, this eye cream is a "rich and restorative eye cream featuring a brightening combination of eight peptides, five forms of vitamin C, and cucumber extract for firmer, stronger-looking skin around the eye area. I'm not kidding when I say this - once I read that, I said count me in, and before I could even think, I was already placing it in my cart. Thank God I'm an advertisers dream after all.



5 skincare tips:

1. Wash your hands before you wash your face.

2. If you dry your face with a bath towel, switch to a clean one.

3. Wash your makeup off before bed. I know you're tired, but your skin will thank you in the morning.

4. Apply sunscreen. Although it's not summer yet, the sun can still be damaging. This step is vital to prevent sun damage, wrinkles, etcetera.

5. Do your research on skincare products. Some products can be full of parabens and other junk that can harm your skin. Important!



I love brands that use clean ingredients! Let me know if you have any recommendations on any skin-care products that you love too! Also, if you have any questions - reach out, of course!



219 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page