top of page
  • Writer's pictureKerry Dunphy

Understanding Anxiety Attacks and How to Stop Them, Head-On, with an EMT

Updated: Nov 15, 2021

Anxiety attacks, often short lasting, are caused by the body’s “fight or flight” response, a natural and adaptive process that assists in battling danger or running away from it, according to Michigan Health.


Gia Deluisi, an individual suffering from anxiety in Philadelphia, says that having sudden anxiety attacks is something she struggles with.


She says that when symptoms of an anxiety attack begin to surface, she understands the symptoms come from anxiety. However, that she often struggles on how to stop the anxiety attacks head-on.


"Sometimes, I feel like I can't breathe. It almost feels like I'm in a dream. I understand it's my anxiety, but I just don't know how to control it when it starts," says Deluisi.


Deluisi explains that she often has to call someone during a panic attack so she can feel like she's In control.


"I usually call my aunt who has anxiety because she knows what it feels like. If I tell other people how I may be feeling, they almost always take it as I'm being dramatic or they don't fully understand," says Deluisi.


Photo by Wix.com

According to dmc.org, an anxiety attack occurs when an individual senses tension, has unsettling thoughts, and encounters physical changes such as a rise in one's blood pressure.


These stressors can be linked with everything from worries over death or illnesses to more normal occasions such as running late for an appointment or coming into terms with the unknown, as said by dmc.org.


During an anxiety attack, Deluisi explains that she doesn't feel like herself, and says that she feels as though she can't be herself around anyone, even her close friends.


"I feel like I can't do anything on my own, I feel like I'm outside of my own body sometimes. I feel out of it."


Deluisi says that she doesn't take any medication for her anxiety, but that she wants to try and get rid of her anxiety without the need to take anything.


"I just want to learn how to stop my anxiety attacks on my own without the need for medicine. I know I'll be so much happier once I do so," says Deluisi.


Although Deluisi has anxiety attacks, she's found her own techniques that have helped her cope with her anxiety.


"When I take a couple of deep breaths and remind myself that It's all in my head, I start to calm down and feel better. Talking to someone about my problems helps a lot too, says Deluisi."


So how does one stop anxiety attacks, head-on?


Image by Wix.com

If an individual finds themself feeling helpless, they can sometimes head off anxiety by instantly thinking of memories and images of a time when they laughed uncontrollably. Although It sounds ridiculously simple, this can help to distract someone's mind, according to Mail On Sunday.


As said by Mayoclinic.org, laughter increases an individual's intake of oxygen-rich air, revitalizes an individual's heart, lungs and muscles, and intensifies the endorphins that are released by one's brain.


Image by Wix.com

Alyssa Dowd, an EMT, says that the first step is recognizing that one has anxiety and if they have any triggers.


Infographic created by Kerry Dunphy

"Some people don't have certain triggers. Sometimes it can be an accumulation of things, and once you figure out what is going on, then you can start to figure out what works and what doesn't," says Dowd.


Dowd says that no two people are going to be the same, when it comes to different levels of anxiety and anxiety attacks.


"The important thing is that you feel in control of yourself," says Dowd."


Image by Wix.com

Dowd mentions that some individuals need medication while other don't. She says that individuals should look into speaking to their doctor.


"I personally use meditation and yoga to deal with my anxiety. I have found that breathing exercises are the best for me," says Dowd.


Dowd mentions that yoga helps her because it teaches her how to be in tune with her own body.


"It helps me because with yoga, you're focusing on your breathing. You are breathing to bring your body into sync."


Image by Wix.com

Dowd states that placing a cool rag to the back of one's neck can cool someone down during a panic attack, but that it might not help everyone. She mentions that deep breaths are the best thing that she has found.


"Some people tend to hyperventilate during a panic attack, so they need to get their breathing in check. Hyperventilating causes your heart to race, which can intern cause dizziness. Some then experience numbness and tingling sensations in their hands," says Dowd.


If anxiety persists, an individual should concentrate on steadying their breathing, and to imagine that everything around them has gone into slow motion, as said by Mail On Sunday.


For more information on understanding and coping with anxiety attacks, visit mayoclinic.org.



40 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page